Qingdao’s Old Town is scattered with international architecture that was built during the German colonial concession in the early 1900’s. A considerable amount of these famous historical landmarks can be found around Guang Xi Lu which was originally called Prince Henry Road. These architectural relics are some of Qingdao’s most prized attractions. Qingdao’s Original Fire Watchtower, depicted here, was built in 1905. It is located just down the hill from Qingdao’s Old Observatory on the out skirts of Guan Xiang Park at the end of GuanXiang Yi Lu.
Currently the tower is not open to the public and is yet another hidden gem in Qingdao’s historical Old Town.
Photograph © Colton Dirks